About the Parks Department

Park Commission

The mayor appoints the five-member Board of Park Commissioners. Commissioners make recommendations on hiring, develop the budget, set fees, and investigate serious workplace incidents such as accidents.

The Department of Public Parks provides recreation programming, maintenance and horticultural services for 2400 acres of park land and forestry services to trees in parks and on tree belts. The department consists of three divisions: administration and recreation, maintenance, and forestry. A superintendent who oversees the city forester and two deputy superintendents, one each for recreation and maintenance, manages the department. Administrators serve at the pleasure of the mayor.

Park Commissioners

Jennifer McQuade, Chair

Chae Swan

William Christofori

Angela Robles

Clinton Harris

Recreation Division

The recreation division programs parks, playgrounds, golf courses and Cyr Arena. Activities include swimming, golf, ice-skating and tennis. In addition, special children's programs are planned for school vacations. The department also operates Afterschool Programs. For information about recreation programs call (413) 750-2652 and request a youth activity guide or check the website.

Maintenance Division

The maintenance division performs lawn care, clean up and repair of park equipment and buildings, and sign construction. On an overtime basis, workers also put up and take down the seasonal lighting display at Forest Park.

Forestry Division

The forestry division plants and maintains trees in parks and tree belts. It also operates a tree nursery in Forest Park and maintains landscape planting at City Hall, Court Square, and on terraces. To request a street tree or to report a fallen or dangerous street tree, call (413) 787-6440.

Page last updated:  Wednesday, June 6, 2018 08:58 am