Human Resources Department

The Human Resources Department, as a strategic business partner, enables the City of Springfield to provide quality services to our citizens by:

  • Attracting, developing, motivating and retaining top municipal talent 
  • Creating a climate of respect; one which appreciates and leverages diversity and difference
  • Ensuring City compliance with statutory, regulatory and ethical employment practices
  • Maximizing productivity by building a culture of continuous improvement and commitment to excellence
  • Modeling the City's commitment to Equal Opportunity Employment and all the benefits linked to Affirmative Action
  • Maintaining a drug-free workplace
  • Driving effective use of the City's finances, specifically those linked to labor costs

This mission is executed daily through the following Human Resources  functions: staffing, benefits, affirmative action, compensation, training, employee relations, workman's compensation, payroll, and employee assistance programs.
 

City Holidays 2019-2020

  2019 2020
New Years January 01, Tuesday January 01, Wednesday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day January 21, Monday January 20, Monday
President's Day February 18, Monday February 17, Monday
Patriot's Day April 15, Monday April 20, Monday
Memorial Day May 27, Monday May 25, Monday
Independence Day July 04, Thursday July 03, Friday (observed)
Labor Day September 02, Monday September 07, Monday
Columbus Day October 14, Monday October 12, Monday
Veterans Day November 11, Monday November 11, Wednesday
Thanksgiving Day November 28, Thursday November 26, Thursday
Christmas Day December 25, Wednesday December 25, Friday

Recruitment Banners

Check out the new recruitment banners designed by the Human Resources Department. We look forward to seeing you at Springfield area recruiting events!


Page last updated:  Wednesday, December 4, 2019 01:40 pm