Office of Planning & Economic Development

Timothy T. Sheehan
Chief Development Officer

70 Tapley Street, Springfield, MA 01104
(413) 787-6020
FAX: (413) 787-6524
Mon.-Fri. 8:15 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Like the City of Springfield Development Services Division on Facebook!

New! Outdoor Dining Program 

The City of Springfield Development Division has released an application for an ARPA funded Outdoor Dining Program to assist businesses and organizations with developing space for outdoor dining/events. 

It is required that applicants first revew the Application Guidelines to determine if their project qualifies. You may download them HERE. 

You must submit by May 5, 2023 at 2 PM to be eligible for consideration. 

This program is now closed for applications. 




Build Back Springfield Program 

The City of Springfield Development Division has released an application for the Build Back Springfield program, a program that aims to assist in the redevelopment of historic properties in Springfield by providing gap funding.

This program is no longer accepting applications as of December 31, 2022

Recommended Build Back Springfield Projects to Date:

Worthington Street Redevelopment

Indian Orchard Fire Station

ARPA Business Applications

All business and non-profit related ARPA funding applications are closed as of December 31, 2022

OPED Mission Statement

The Office of Planning and Economic Development works to create a climate in Springfield that is conducive to growing and attracting businesses in order to strengthen and revitalize the City's neighborhoods and communities and to stabilize and transform our physical, social, and economic environment.

What we do!

Springfield Office of Planning and Economic Development promotes the City as an attractive location for new businesses, retaining and expanding our valued existing businesses, and increasing our tax base.  We provide planning support, technical assistance, coordination and advisory services to city officials, boards, and committees on issues involving land use planning, zoning, economic development, open space land preservation, smart growth, and historic preservation.


2020 Springfield's Opportunity Zone Neighborhood Overview

2019 Downtown Market Rate Housing Report - Zimmerman/Volk Associates

Page last updated:  Thursday, February 10, 2022 09:42 am