Community Preservation

The Community Preservation allows cities and towns to adopt a property tax surcharge to help fund projects that preserve the character of the community. Springfield voters adopted the CPA on November 8, 2016 and it went into effect on July 1, 2017. In Springfield, the CPA fund is created via a 1.5% surcharge on real estate taxes for residential, commercial, and industrial properties.

Current Members

Springfield Preservation Trust Representative Robert McCarroll City Council 3
Conservation Commission Representative Juanita Martinez City Council 3
Housing Authority Representative Willie Thomas City Council 3
Park Commission Representative Clinton Harrris City Council 3
Planning Board Representative Gloria Defillipo City Council 3
Historical Commission Representative Judith Crowell City Council 3
Neighborhood Representative Stephen Bosworth City Council 3
Neighborhood Representative Rhonda Sherrell City Council 3
Neighborhood Representative Yolanda Cancel City Council 3

Boards and Commissions Interest Form

Click here if you would are interested in applying for a Board or Commission.

Community Preservation

Click here to learn more about Community Preservation.

Meeting Calendar

Click here for the Meeting Calendar. Just select Community Preservation Committee from the Group drop-down.

Page last updated:  Monday, April 24, 2023 10:43 am