About the License Commission

The License Commission's primary functions are issuance of licenses for the sale of alcoholic beverages and the conduct of hearings on violations of liquor laws. The commission also licenses coin-operated games of all categories; class I, II and III auto licenses; and licenses to lodging houses, common victuallers, and innkeepers for the sale of food.  For more information about the Process to obtain a License issued by the License Commission please visit the Licensing Department Page.

Commission meetings are held in City Hall on the First and Third Thursday of each month.

View License Commission meeting schedule

There are five license commissioners. Four of the commissioners are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council for terms that are concurrent with the Mayor's term of office. The fifth commissioner is nominated by a caucus of neighborhood councils, appointed by the Mayor, and confirmed by the City Council. The fifth commissioner's term runs until a replacement is nominated by the caucus. The current Commissioners are:

Peter Sygnator, Chairman

Andrew Cade

Ronald Senez

Rosa Espinosa

Michael Siciliano



Page last updated:  Thursday, November 1, 2018 11:01 am