In the News

Mayor Sarno brings greetings at Massachusetts Chiefs of Police Association Installation Ceremony

|   Community News

- Congratulations to Agawam Police Chief Eric P. Gills -

Mayor Domenic J. Sarno attended and brought greetings at the special Massachusetts Chief of Police Association Installation Ceremony for their 2024 officers on Thursday at the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. Chief Eric P. Gills of the Agawam Police Department was installed as the 2024 President of the Massachusetts Chiefs of Police Association and sworn in by Hampden County District Attorney Anthony Gulluni. State Public Safety and Security Secretary Terrence M. Reidy, Springfield Police Superintendent Cheryl Clapprood, Agawam Mayor Bill Sapelli, Agawam Mayor-Elect Christopher Johnson, State Representative Nicholas Boldyga, and Hampden County Sheriff Nick Cocchi were also in attendance.  

Mayor Sarno stated, “I was honored to join our Springfield Police Superintendent Cheryl Clapprood and police chiefs from across the state today as the Massachusetts Chiefs of Police Association installed their 2024 president and officers right here in Springfield at the Basketball Hall of Fame. Congratulations to Agawam’s Eric P. Gills on being named president and thank you for your tremendous service. I commend and thank all of our brave and dedicated police officers from across the Commonwealth and their families for everything they do to keep our communities safe.”

Page last updated:  Tuesday, March 1, 2022 01:32 pm