In the News

Mayor Sarno, Superintendent Warwick and Officials Celebrate new DeBerry-Swan School with Special Dedication Ceremony

|   City News

Mayor Domenic J. Sarno and Springfield Public Schools Superintendent Daniel Warwick joined with School Committee Vice Chairwoman LaTonia Monroe-Naylor, School Committee members Barbara Gresham, Denise Hurst and Chris Collins, City Council President Jesse Lederman and Councilors Kateria Walsh, Justin Hurst, Zaida Govan, Lavar Click-Bruce, Malo Brown, Attorney Michael Fenton, Tim Allen, and Tracye Whitfield, State Representative Bud Williams, Lamari Jackson from State Senator Adam Gomez's Office, Director of Capital Asset Construction Peter Garvey, CAFO TJ Plante, Health and Human Services Commissioner Helen Caulton-Harris, Police Deputy Chief Lawrence Akers, Chairman of the School Building Commission Norman Roldan, Massachusetts School Building Authority CEO James McDonald, DeBerry Principal Sharonda Hector, Swan Principal Catherine Roberts, and the students and staff from the schools, for a special dedication ceremony for the new state-of-the-art DeBerry-Swan Elementary School, named in honor of the late Rev. William N. DeBerry and retired state Representative and civil rights icon Benjamin Swan respectively. The school opened this school year and students are now settling into their new classrooms.

Mayor Sarno states, “Superintendent Daniel Warwick and I want to thank the Massachusetts School Building Authority for their continued partnership.  Thanks to their efforts and the support from the School Committee, my administration was able to build yet another state-of-the-art new school for our students, families and teachers.  This $95 million project is part of the $750 million my administration has invested into our schools, either building new ones (Brightwood-Lincoln) or renovating and upgrading existing schools – the most in the Commonwealth.  I am proud that we are able to continue to invest in our schools and education to meet the growing needs of meeting the education requirements of the 21st century.  The former Homer Street School was built in 1898 and the DeBerry School was built in 1951, both could no longer provide for our students and teachers.  I am also happy that the School Committee, particularly School Committeewoman Barbara Gresham, voted unanimously to support the name change for the Homer Street School to honor beloved retired state Representative and civic rights icon Benjamin Swan.  Also, it was great having the DeBerry family in attendance too.  Rev. William DeBerry was another local icon and a man of historical significance not only with the DeBerry School being named after him but also for his involvement with St. John's Congregational Church and Camp Atwater.  Both men are truly fine examples for our students and youth to look up to as they pursue their education and grown into the future leaders of our community.  Congratulations to everyone involved, especially to Principals Sharonda Hector and Catherine Roberts, all the teachers, staff, students and families.  This school is for you.” 

Timothy Tracy and members of the family of the late William N. DeBerry and family members from the Swan family were also in attendance.  DiNisco Design was the architect, Skanska served as the project manager and Fontaine Brothers were the construction manager.

Page last updated:  Tuesday, March 1, 2022 01:32 pm