In the News

Springfield Police Department holds Fallen Officer’s Memorial Ceremony

|   City News

In advance of National Police Week, the Springfield Police Department held its annual Memorial Ceremony on Wednesday May 10th outside Springfield Police Headquarters at 130 Pearl Street. Mayor Domenic J. Sarno and Police Superintendent Cheryl Clapprood joined with Fr. Bill Hamilton who gave the opening and closing sermon, Vanesa Ford, the Springfield Police Department command staff of the Springfield Police Department, police officers, City Councilors Attorney Sean Curran, Jesse Lederman and Melvin Edwards, Board of Police Commissioners Robert 'C' Jackson, Al Tranghese, Norman Roldan and Madeline Fernandez, cadets from Class 0523, and family and friends of those who gave the ultimate sacrifice serving the community they loved.

The ceremony is dedicated to the memory of the 17 Springfield Police Officers who sacrificed their lives while in the performance of their duties.  This year, the department recognized the family of Officer John W. Connors who was killed in the line of duty 70 years ago in 1953, as well as the families of Officers Paul F. Mawaka, Richard D. Vigneault and William R. Berte who were all killed in the line of duty 50 years ago in 1973.

“During this memorial ceremony we reflect on those officers who gave the ultimate sacrifice.  I worked with Mike Schiavina, Alain Beauregard and Kevin Ambrose who hold a special place in my heart.  This year we will recognize the families of Officer John Connors, Paul Mawaka, Richard Vigneault, and William Berte.  I did not have the privilege of working with those men, but have meet and gotten to know their families over the years and I appreciate many of them returning year after year to this ceremony which has a special meaning to all law enforcement officers,” said Springfield Police Superintendent Cheryl C. Clapprood. 

Mayor Sarno states, “Police Superintendent Cheryl Clapprood and I feel that it is very important for us to continue to hold our annual Police Memorial Ceremony as a part of National Police Week to honor the memory of our brave and dedicated officers who gave the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty to protect and serve our residents and businesses.  God Bless our brave and dedicated Springfield Police Officers and their families. God Speed!”

In Washington D.C., the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund will host their annual candlelight vigil on Saturday May 13th at 8:00 p.m. to honor the officers who lost their lives in 2022. 

In 1962, President John F. Kennedy signed a proclamation which designated May 15 as Peace Officers Memorial Day and the week in which that date falls as Police Week.

Springfield Police Fallen Officers

Thomas Miller                                                    10/05/1675

Daniel Donovan                                                09/29/1908

Adelbert St. Marie                                            08/31/1934

Carl Rolf                                                               11/02/1938

John P. Sullivan, Sr.                                          02/02/1940

Thomas F. Murphy                                          02/02/1940

Raymond Moriarty                                          09/20/1946

John W. Connors                                              02/20/1953

Leo Hamel                                                           10/31/1955

Francis Sears                                                      09/11/1967

Walter C. Juskiewicz                                        06/21/1969

William R. Berte                                                01/08/1973

Richard D. Vigneault                                       04/11/1973

Paul F. Mawaka                                               10/30/1973

Michael Schiavina                                            11/12/1985

Alain Beauregard                                             11/15/1985

Kevin Ambrose                                                  06/04/2012

Page last updated:  Tuesday, March 1, 2022 01:32 pm