In the News

Mayor Sarno, Congressman Neal and City and State Officials Celebrate Ribbon Cutting Ceremony for new Marriott Springfield Downtown Hotel

|   City News

Mayor Domenic J. Sarno and First Lady Carla Sarno joined with Congressman Richard E. Neal, city and state officials, and Dinesh Patel and Vid Mitta, owners of Springfield Hospitality; Peter Marks, General Manager of Marriott Springfield Downtown; and other special guest for a special ribbon cutting ceremony for the new Marriott Springfield Downtown Hotel. The Springfield SciTech Band provided the musical entertainment.

City Council President Jesse Lederman and Councilors Lavar Click-Bruce, Malo Brown and Melvin Edwards; State Representatives Angelo J. Puppolo, Jr., Bud Williams, and Michael Finn; William Sapelli, Mayor of Agawam; John Vieau, Mayor of Chicopee; Chief Development Officer Tim Sheehan, SRA Director Amanda Pham, Police Superintendent Cheryl Clapprood, Fire Commissioner BJ Calvi, Chief of Staff Tom Ashe, and Lamari Jackson from Senator Adam Gomez’s Office were in attendance. 

Mayor Sarno stated, “I want to again thank and congratulate Dinesh Patel, Vid Mitta, Peter Marks, and the entire Marriott Springfield Downtown team and their respective families for their continued belief and investment in our Springfield.  They have done such a tremendous job in bringing the Marriott brand back to our downtown Springfield.  The renovations and updates that they have made both inside and outside is truly breathe taking.  I want to thank Congressman Neal, who once a mayor always the heart of a mayor, and my colleagues from the state delegation and city council who worked together with my administration in making this major economic development project happen.  This is all about that good four-letter word – JOBS!  Congratulations again to Dinesh and Vid and thank you and your families for your continued friends, support and belief and investment in our Springfield.”

Page last updated:  Tuesday, March 1, 2022 01:32 pm