In the News

Springfield Fire Department Swears in Eight New Firefighters

Mayor Domenic J. Sarno and Fire Commissioner BJ Calvi held a pinning ceremony for eight new firefighters for the Springfield Fire Department today at the Raymond M. Sullivan Public Safety Complex in Springfield.

The eight new recruits who were sworn in by Fire Commissioner Calvi were:

•    Melquan Bland
•    Daniel Christensen
•    Joshua Cruz-Birriel
•    Dominic Grilli
•    Quentin Jones
•    Luis Ovalle
•    Wilson Pearson
•    Alydyn Ruth

Mayor Sarno congratulated Springfield’s newest public safety officials.  “My congratulations and thanks to our brave and dedicated Fire Department personnel and their families.  On behalf of the residents of our great city, we thank you for your continued efforts in keeping our community safe and we truly appreciate your service for you are the ones who are running into the buildings to save lives, while everyone else is running out.  Godspeed.” Mayor Sarno said.  

Commissioner Calvi stated, “Congratulations to all of our newest recruits.  On behalf of the Springfield Fire Department, we are all looking forward to working together on behalf of our residents.  All of the new recruits have a bright future with our SFD and I wish to congratulate all of them and their families.  Job well done.”

Page last updated:  Tuesday, March 1, 2022 01:32 pm