In the News

Union Station Wins National Phoenix Award

Monday, December 11, 2017

Mayor Domenic J. Sarno and Congressman Richard E. Neal announced today that Springfield Union Station has won the grand prize of the Phoenix Awards for best brownfields redevelopment in the country in 2017. The award was the highlight of the annual Phoenix Awards, announced at the 2017 National Brownfields Conference in Pittsburgh, Penn., earlier this month. Springfield Union Station was redeveloped by the Springfield Redevelopment Authority (SRA), reopening in 2017 after being vacant since its closure in 1973. 

“It’s a tremendous honor for Springfield Union Station, our city, and our SRA to earn this prestigious national award,” said Mayor Sarno. “We’re thankful to the Environmental Protection Agency, MassDevelopment, and the Pioneer Valley Planning Commission who all contributed greatly to making the cleanup and redevelopment a reality.”

“Thank you to the Environmental Protection Agency, MassDevelopment and the Pioneer Valley Planning Commission for their work in securing this impressive award for Springfield Union Station,” said Congressman Richard E. Neal. “The opening of Union Station earlier this year was the culmination of decades of hard work. I am thrilled to see this very special project receiving such prestigious national accolades and am proud to be part of its success story.”  

The award highlights the environmental cleanup that was the critical first phase in being able to redevelop the historic Union Station, the former baggage building property, and the former site of the Hotel Charles. The property had petroleum, metals, and asbestos contamination and the project also addressed air quality and congestion mitigation.

“This is further proof on how impactful the Union Station project has been, to win such an award with competition of great redevelopment projects not only in New England but throughout the country,” said Kevin Kennedy, Chief Development Officer.

The city utilized $2.1 million from the Brownfields Redevelopment Fund, which MassDevelopment administers, and $600,000 in U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Brownfields funding to perform assessment and cleanup of underground storage tanks, petroleum, metals, and asbestos. The project also utilized a $10 million Congestion Mitigation & Air Quality (CMAQ) grant that was supported through MassDOT and the Pioneer Valley Planning Commission (PVPC).

“Congratulations to the City of Springfield and Union Station on this great and well-deserved honor from the Phoenix Awards,” said MassDevelopment President and CEO Lauren Liss. “The redevelopment of this historic station is key to Springfield’s renewed momentum and the vibrancy of our downtown Transformative Development District, and we’re pleased to have supported this now award-winning project.”  

“Now that a revitalized Union Station has been reclaimed as one of our region’s premier transportation assets, it is well positioned to serve as the needed hub of a 21st century rail network while serving as an anchor institution for Springfield and all of western Massachusetts,” said Tim Brennan, Executive Director of the PVPC.

The Phoenix Awards recognize exemplary brownfield redevelopment and revitalization. Winning projects offer a fresh take on significant environmental issues, show innovation and demonstrate masterful community impact.

For each award year, one grand prize winner is selected from each of EPA's 10 regional award winners, and additional special winners are selected for community impact, sustainability or other special achievements. Projects are judged primarily upon:


  • Magnitude of the problems and the project
  • Use of innovative techniques
  • Cooperative efforts of multiple parties
  • Positive impact on the environment, conservation or sustainability
  • Project's general and long-term economic and/or social impacts on the community

Union Station first won the EPA’s Region 1 award for best project in the region. Region 1 encompasses all of New England. Union Station was then named grand prize winner amongst all 10 national regions.

For more information on the Phoenix Award please visit:


Page last updated:  Tuesday, March 1, 2022 01:32 pm