In the News

Patrick-Murray Administration Awards Springfield with Tornado Relief Funding for Road Repairs

Lieutenant Governor Tim Murray today joined Massachusetts Department of Transportation (MassDOT) Secretary and CEO Richard A. Davey in Springfield to award $1.35 million in reimbursements to the City to fund essential storm damage repairs following the June 1, 2011 tornado. 

The funds for Springfield are part of $3.9 million in federal emergency funds available to reimburse eight communities for the cost of emergency repairs associated with the June 2011 storms.  The funds supported rebuilding of roads, sidewalks and debris removal.

“In the aftermath of the June 1st tornado, Springfield and other impacted municipalities are making great strides to revitalize their communities,” said Lieutenant Governor Murray. “There is more work to do, and our Administration is committed to supporting their recovery by reimbursing cities and towns for road repair damage and other building efforts.”

“MassDOT is pleased to help direct reimbursement funds for those unanticipated expenses,” said MassDOT Secretary Davey. “I want to express my appreciation for our MassDOT employees partnering with the workers and residents in the affected cities and towns to rebuild and renew.”

“The City of Springfield is very appreciative of Governor Patrick, Lt. Governor Murray and Secretary Davey for their continued monetary reimbursement efforts, but more importantly their ongoing partnership in assisting Springfield to rebuild bigger, better and stronger,” said Mayor Domenic J. Sarno.

Springfield is the first community to receive its award. In attendance were Mayor Domenic J. Sarno, Lt. Gov. Tim Murray, MassDOT Secretary Rich Davey, State Senator James Welch,  State Rep. Cheryl Coakley-Rivera, City Councilor Bud Williams, City Engineer Chris Cignoli and representatives from the offices of Congressman Neal and State Senator Gale Candaras.

Page last updated:  Tuesday, March 1, 2022 01:32 pm