The Change To A Mixed Method Of Representation

On November 6, 2007 the voters of the city of Springfield approved a binding question that will change method in which City Councilors and School Committee members are elected.

Composition Of City Council and School Committee

In 2009 the method of election for the Springfield City Council and Springfield School Committee changed to  a mixed method of election.  Candidates currently run for election by ward or at-large.

For a list of current City Council members click here.

The Springfield City Council consists of 13 members elected for a two year term.  5 members are elected at large by all the voters of the city.  Additionally, 1 member is elected from each of the 8 wards.  

For a current list of School Committee members click here.

The Springfield School Committee consists of the Mayor, who is chairman; 2 members who are elected at-large; and 4 members who are elected by district.  The district breakdown is listed below:

  • District 1 is comprised of the combined Wards 1 and 3
  • District 2 is comprised of the combined Wards 4 and 5
  • District 3 is comprised of the combined Wards 6 and 7
  • District 4 is comprised of the combined Wards 2 and 8

School Committee members will be elected every four years.  The terms for School Committee are not staggered as in past elections.

Wards and Precincts

Page last updated:  Thursday, September 24, 2020 08:36 am