In the News

Mayor Sarno and Commissioner Calvi Welcome New Class of Firefighters

Mayor Domenic J. Sarno and Springfield Fire Commissioner BJ Calvi welcomed Springfield’s newest class of firefighters during a ceremony at the Raymond M. Sullivan Public Safety Complex.

The new firefighters recently graduated from the Massachusetts Department of Fire Services' Springfield campus after successfully completing a 50 day recruit training program. They are Christopher Bones, Anthony Disla, Brendon McCrimmons, Brendan McNeish, Christopher Ott, Timothy Raimer, Justin Robles, Christian Ramos, Samuel Scott and Zachary Wolcott.

Following this recognition, the Mayor and Commissioner presented Commonwealth of Massachusetts Fire Service Commission Career Service Awards to 4 Firefighters with 30 years of service. Receiving the recognition were Captain David Wells, Firefighters Richard Cheeks, Michael Cote and Thomas Murphy.

Mayor Sarno congratulated Springfield’s newest public safety officials. He said, “My congratulations and thanks to our new firefighters and their families. It’s great to have you on our team and I appreciate your brave and dedicated services to our City. Godspeed.”

Page last updated:  Monday, June 1, 2020 04:03 pm