School Committee

As instruments of the Massachusetts Legislature, local School Committees function primarily as a legislative body to formulate and adopt policy, by selecting an executive officer to implement policy, and by evaluating the results. They must carry out their functions openly, while seeking comments of the public, students and staff in its decision-making processes.

The Springfield School Committee consists of seven members including the Mayor who is Chairperson, and a Vice-Chairperson who is elected yearly from the remaining six members.   (Two of the six members are elected at-large and four are elected by ward representation—to four-year terms.) The School Committee operates in accordance with the MGL Ch. 71 and 41, which delegate its authority.

The School Committee holds Regular Sessions at City Hall in room 220 at 6:30 PM.  Before certain Regular Sessions, Public Speak-Outs are held at 6:00 PM.  For meeting dates and times, and to inquire about or sign up for speak-outs, citizens should call the School Committee Office to leave your name and topic you wish to address, and to obtain guidelines.

School Committee Office

1550 Main Street, 2nd Floor

8:00 AM – 4:30 PM, Monday – Friday

Phone: (413) 787-7100 ext. 55191



For additional information please visit the School Committee page on the Springfield Public Schools website at:

Page last updated:  Monday, October 3, 2022 11:17 am