School Building Commission

The School Building Commission consists of seven voting members plus the superintendent of schools, who does not vote. Members serve at the pleasure of the mayor and include the president of the City Council or the mayor's designee, the vice-chairman of the School Committee or the mayor's designee, the director of facilities management, the code enforcement commissioner, and three other residents of Springfield.

The commission has charge of preparing plans and specifications for school building projects and site work, and presents its recommendations to the School Committee. This commission is responsible for school building and remodeling projects.

Mayoral approval of plans and the start of school construction projects is required. The commission meets on the first Tuesdays of each month at the Barney Carriage House in Forest Park at 4pm.

Mayoral Appointees:

John Powers, Chair 
Charles Contant 
Adrienne Osborn 


President of City Council Timothy Rooke, Designee
Vice Chairperson of School Com. Ken Shea des. Chris Collins
Director of Facilities Division Patrick J. Sullivan
Code Enforcement Commissioner   Steve Desilets

No Voting Status:

Superintendent of Schools Dr. Alan Ingram
Designee for Dr. Ingram

Enrique Figueredo



Karla Youngblood
Phone: (413) 886-5221

Page last updated:  Thursday, September 3, 2015 10:03 am