Election Office (en EspaƱol)

City Council Candidates

Thomas Ashe - City Council At Large Incumbent

Justin Hurst - City Council At Large Incumbent

Kateri B. Walsh - City Council At Large Incumbent

Ernesto E. Cruz - City Council At Large

Victor G. Davila - City Council At Large

Jesse Lederman

Jynai S. McDonald- City Council At Large

Kelli Moriarty-Finn- City Council At Large

Timothy Ryan- City Council At Large

Tracye L. Whitfield- City Council At Large

Adam Gomez- City Council Ward 1 Incumbent

Michael A. Fenton- City Council Ward 2 Incumbent

Kency Gilet- City Council Ward 2

Melvin A. Edwards- City Council Ward 3 Incumbent

Kevin J. Dumpson- City Council Ward 3

E Henry Twiggs- City Council Ward 4 Incumbent

Robert J. Kelly- City Council Ward 4

Marcus J. Williams- City Council Ward 5 Incumbent

Kenneth Shea- City Council Ward 6 Incumbent

Bob Collamore- City Council Ward 6

Timothy C. Allen- City Council Ward 7 Incumbent

Orlando Ramos- City Council Ward 8 Incumbent

Denise Marie Hurst - School Committee At Large Incumbent

James J. Ferrera III- School Committee At Large

Ryan Hess- School Committee At Large

LaTonia Monroe Naylor- School Committee At Large

Maria Perez- School Committee District 1 (Wards 1&3)

Barbara Gresham - School Committee District 2 (Wards 4&5) Incumbent

Stephanie Murchison-Brown - School Committee District 2 (Wards 4&5)

Christopher Collins - School Committee District 3 (Wards 6 & &) Incumbent

Peter Murphy - School Committee District 4 (Wards 2 & 8) Incumbent

Zaida Govan-School Committee District 4 (Wards 2 & 8)

2017 Election Calendar

Calendar of Events

Deadline Dates

Last day and hour to file a challenge to nomination papers or for candidate withdrawalAugust 17 - 5pm

9:00a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Last register to vote or to change name/address for City Preliminary

August 30

City Preliminary (If required)

7:00a.m. to 8:00p.m.

September 19

9:00a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Last day to register to vote or to change name/address for Municipal Election

October 18

Municipal Election

7:00a.m. to 8:00p.m.

November 7



City of Springfield 2017 Census

General Laws of Massachusetts mandate an annual street listing of residents as of January 1 of each year.  As part of this process we are making it more convenient for the residents of Springfield to respond to the annual city census.  If you did not return the form mailed to your home or if you lost the form, download a copy of the census to print, fill out and return. Failure to respond to the census shall result in removal from the active voting list and may result in removal from the voter registration rolls. Listed below are options that we hope will make responding to your Census as easy as possible:

  • Call 787-6185 if you have any questions or no changes to your census.
  • Send by fax to 787-6186
  • Drop off to Room #8 on the ground floor of City Hall
  • Fill out the census online and submit it electronically via E-mail to goyola@springfieldcityhall.com (Download Electronic Form)
  • If you have any questions regarding the Dog License portion of the census you can call the Clerks Office at 787-6094

Poll Workers Needed

The Springfield Election Commission Needs You!

We need poll workers and bilingual poll workers who are fluent in English and Spanish to serve as election officials and assist voters in the 2017 Elections.

Call 413-787-6120 if you are interested. Or download the Poll Worker Application and mail (DO NOT FAX) the application to the Election office.

The minimum requirements to serve as a poll worker are as follows:

  • Must be fluent in English.
  • Be a registered voter in the state of Massachusetts.
  • Be available to work 6:30 am - 8:15 pm on Election Day.
  • Must be able to attend a MANDATORY paid training annually.

Page last updated:  Wednesday, September 27, 2017 03:48 pm